Early mornings

I will start this post off by saying that I enjoy sleeping just as much as the next person, there is nothing better than snuggling under the covers and just disappearing for a little while. I also am an early riser, I have never been one for sleeping the day away, I don’t need to get up at an ungodly hour of the morning (although being a working student means that I do that far more frequently than I would otherwise choose) but I have rarely ever slept past 7 or so, I prefer to get up and get my day going.

Miss Dahlia is not as much a fan of mornings as I am. Or maybe it was just that she wasn't allowed to graze anymore?

Miss Dahlia is not as much a fan of mornings as I am. Or maybe it was just that she wasn’t allowed to graze anymore?

Having a horse on stall rest though has meant that I can kiss my sleeping time goodbye. Until this week I have been getting up and leaving my house by 5:30am to get to the barn by 6 to feed horses (might as well since I am there, right?), check on Dahlia, clean her stall (worst stall horse EVER! She is like a freaking tornado in her stall!), stuff the hay net so she can keep that little stomach of hers happy, redo the standing wrap, sometimes redo the entire bandage, and also hand graze/groom her for a little while. She loves these little forays out into the world, the only chance she gets to escape the end stall. Silly mare can’t play nice over the stalls with the horses in training so she was put in isolation all the way down at the end of the barn. To be honest, she really doesn’t seem to mind most of the time. As long as she has hay and water she is a pretty happy camper. I am sure she would love to get out and stretch her legs more but she is handling the stall rest with surprising grace and ease. I was definitely expecting more fire breathing dragon behavior from her.

Yummy grass!!

Yummy grass!!

Although I am not normally thrilled when my alarm goes off in the early moments of the 5 o’clock hour by the time I get to the barn, and subsequently to work, I am normally glad I went ahead and got out there early. D’s barn already has such a sense of peace and tranquility about it and that feeling is heightened in the early morning hours. It is so quiet, last week when it was cooler there was this lovely mist that would make everything all hazy. Nothing smells better than a barn in the morning and nothing sounds more lovely than contented horses quietly munching on their grain, occasionally rattling their feed pan or snorting out the piece of grain they inhaled in their haste to stuff their faces.

Early show morning with Lion and Dale

Early show morning with Lion and Dale

And the sunrises. Nothing beats the sunrises. They have been glorious. I often have found myself pausing while emptying the muck bucket or while carrying hay into the barn, bringing horses in, grazing Dahlia, etc. just to watch as the sun rises and turns a brilliant, fiery red, while bathing the sky in reds, pinks, oranges and finally the blue of a new day. Even when I was at the height of my worrying about Dahlia I couldn’t help but to leave the farm feeling refreshed, recentered and ready to greet the day.

I mean really, is this not just absolutely lovely?

I mean really, is this not just absolutely lovely?

2 thoughts on “Early mornings

  1. gorgeous sunrise picture! i’m glad Ms Dahlia is exceeding your expectations with her manners re: stall rest. kinda a bummer to finish out the lease this way but… ugh horses are like that i guess.

    Like

    • Yeah…definitely a bummer but what can ya do? Just gotta go with it. She is doing well with the stall rest, definitely restless, but ok. Kaitlyn can attest to her being a complete pill when trying to redo her wraps though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

