Let’s Go Fly a Kite!

Or a horse….whatever works for you.

Boing!

Boing!

Now I have that song stuck in my head though… “Let’s go fly a kite…up to the highest height…let’s go fly a kite and send it soaring!”

Anyway, Dahlia’s new hand walking regime is going….interestingly. Some days she is the picture of perfection and would rather stop and eat after 10 minutes that keep walking. Some days its like trying to contain a dragon and we spend far more time hand rearing, hand leaping, hand bucking and hand spooking than anything. As evidenced by the photos.

Higher!

Higher!

Her leg is healing really well, its almost completely closed and I have been allowing it to be unwrapped so it can breathe while I am there and also while we walk. Walking does sometimes cause it to seep a little bit but that’s normal. Leaving it unwrapped does also cause a fair amount of swelling right at the site but I have found, obviously, that walking or allowing her to move more helps keep the swelling down. I have a feeling that it is just going to need to be weaned off of wrapping which is fine.

Look how tall I am, mom!

Look how tall I am, mom!

Dahlia is, however, returning to her home today. Its a bit bittersweet. I think that had she not injured herself that I would have learned a lot riding her and we would have made some good progress under D’s tutelage. Its a bummer that things went down the way they did but I just can’t keep her any longer. It has been so incredibly stressful having her injure herself under my watch and I don’t think my heart or my sanity can handle it any longer.

FullSizeRender (3)

Sometimes she drives me absolutely bonkers but I will miss her, she is a sweet little mare and I am excited to hopefully see her at events in the future with her owner!

How could you not love a face like that?

How could you not love a face like that?

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go Fly a Kite!

  1. so disappointing that her injury interfered so much with the lease… disappointing and super frustrating (and stressful!). oh well, hopefully her trip home is uneventful. there will always be other horses!

    Like

  2. Oh boy, very reminiscent of when I had to hand walk Carlos a long time ago now. I think if you get behind her and let her drag you it would be a lot like summer skijorring or something 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment